Feelin’ good!

Yesterday I had an app update on my iPod touch. It’s a note app and I had forgotten about it, so I opened it up to see what notes I had stored away. One of them was of my body measurements from September (that was when I figured I’d start working out three times a week to lose the rest of my baby weight, ha!).

I figured I’d take my measurements now. Why not? I have worked out (religiously for a month, now sporadically, but I do walk numerous times a week) and I’ve really bettered my eating habits. I know I’ve gotten smaller, but I have no idea how much smaller. Here are the measurements:

Sept 6, 2011
Waist: 30″
Stomach (i.e., “the pooch” ugh): 34.75″
Hips: 37″
Butt: 40″
Thigh: 22.25″

April 12, 2012
Waist: 30″
Stomach: 33″
Hips: 35.5″
Butt: 38.5″
Thigh: 21.75″

That’s 5.25″ lost! That’s pretty awesome, if you ask me. :)

And then I got even more curious. You see, back before my PVCs were discovered I was working out three times a week (Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred) and cycling 21 miles once or twice a week. I was also on a very clean diet (lean meats and veggies, minimal sugar, minimal carbs, minimal dairy). I really wanted to get rid of my body fat. So here are those measurements (not all the same ones – I had less areas of my body with fat on them!):

April 11, 2010
Waist: 31″
Thigh: 22.5″
Hips: 37″

May 12, 2010
Waist: 28″
Thigh: 21.75″
Hips: 35.25″

Sept 2010 (I got pregnant the cycle that started at the end of this month)
Waist: 28″
Thigh: 22″
Hips: 34.5″

If you look at those numbers, I’m really not that far off from where I was before I got pregnant! And my thighs are already smaller! It’s the squats from picking Adele up and putting her down – I swear it! I was quite happy with my body at that point (even though I did gain some of the weight/fat back the summer of the palpitations – dealing with the anxiety and other physical issues from those really cut back on my health and lifestyle).

I’m not sure my hips will ever go back down, but we’ll see. I do have some lovely love handles around that area, so I can definitely get those measurements smaller. However, they may have permanently widened due to childbirth.

Hopefully I can get my waist back down and get rid of the ugly belly pooch I now have. I thought I had a bit of a pooch before, but boy was I wrong! Either way, I’m working on it! These measurements were just what I needed to do to help get me back on track. I feel great about how my body is trimming back down. I want to see how close I can get before the end of the year.

But I’m pretty proud of my body. In the last year and a half, I’ve gotten pregnant, carried a child, gained 45lbs, lost 42lbs, birthed a child, and have successfully nursed said child for 9 months (with plans to keep going full time until at least 12 months!). I did all that and I’m still looking pretty good. :)

So here’s to losing those last few inches!

Leave a Reply

