Getting fit! (Again)

One day I woke up and realized I can’t really say that I just had a baby. I have a saggy belly still (ugh), and I kind of brushed it off all the time. I mean, I had just had a baby. I can’t expect my body to be perfect after just having a baby.

Except I haven’t just had a baby. She’s almost 7 months old. I knew that I wanted to take care in working out before Della turned 6 months old. I didn’t want to hurt my supply at all and knew I really wanted to her to have breastmilk as long as possible, and at least 6 months (my goal is now a year!). I know that if you drink enough water and eat properly that working out shouldn’t affect your supply, but that big What If was always in the back of my mind. I figured I gave my body up for 9 months for her, what’s another 6 months?

So now that she’s almost 7 months old, I have absolutely no excuse. None at all. Except that I was having trouble finding time to do it. I’m still having trouble finding a balance with some things. I love being a mom and want to do only that, but of course I still need to work. So there’s that. And then I need to better fit in time with my husband. And then there’s the housework. And then there’s other familial obligations. How the heck am I to find time to work out in all that?!

Last weekend we went shopping. I was hoping to find some bigger jammies for Adele (I did find some on clearance in 18 and 24 month sizes, but none in 12 month sizes, the next size she needs). Instead I found my new jean skirt. It was only $6 at the GAP and it fits me so well! I love it. It makes me feel sexy, pretty, skinny. It makes me want to feel sexier, prettier, and skinnier when I’m naked, too. Because I don’t right now. And that’s okay, even though I didn’t just have a baby. But I want to have a better body. In May I’m going to have to put on a bathing suit (we are going to Florida!!), and this summer I want to feel good in my clothes. It will no longer be cold/cool outside. I can’t hide under a cardigan anymore.

So I’m working out. My body HURTS! I started The 30 Day Shred again. I’ve had great success with it before, so I’m hoping to find that again. I usually have about 20 minutes when I get home after dropping Della off at daycare before I have to start working. So that is now designated workout time. And I can set aside 20 minutes every Saturday morning. That can be Daddy/Della time while Mama has her time. I think three times a week is totally doable. It will be hard to find good excuses to NOT workout when it’s only 20 minutes, three times a week, when I’m already not doing anything.

I’m really hoping I can get my body back into shape. I want to like (or at least not detest) what I see in the mirror. I want to feel great in all my clothes, not just some of them. So I’m fixing that.

Here’s to having a rockin’ body again. :)

Leave a Reply

