I miss writing, I really do.

So. Where to begin? I can’t say I stopped writing because my life got boring. On the contrary, my life has become so interesting, so busy that I don’t have time to write (much less sleep, which, if I’m honest, has a much higher value).

I have time to write tonight because I’m sick, in the tub, trying to soak out whatever evil cold virus I’m harboring. Glorious, huh?

It’s crazy how much my life has changed in the last six (six!!) months. I love it, but it’s sometimes hard to recognize. Nights now include cooking dinner for two, and heating up premade (by me) purees for Adele; then we have bathtime, diaper, lotion, and jammies; storytime is next; and then we fit one last nursing session in. By 7:30/8:00, little miss Della is dreaming of toys and milk.

Of course that’s the time that Cole and I should spend together before turning in ourselves; more often than not, however, that time is spent cleaning, running errands (separately, of course), showering (me), and trying to stay awake until 10:00 (both of us) so we feel a little normal. Of course we do spend time (and, ahem, time) together, it’s just not like before. It’s something we are working on, since neither of us are 100% satisfied with our relationship right now. (I’m not saying our marriage is in trouble or anything, we just want to get some romance thrown back in.)

So there are many changes. Some have been easier than others, but most are good, great even. We are a solid little family, and I couldn’t ask for more.

Well, a little more sleep wouldn’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

