Grandparents

I grew up without grandparents. My dad came along much later in his parents’ lives. His mom had died before my dad even met my mom and his dad died when I was five. I have a few fleeting memories with my Pop Pop, but that’s about it. My mom’s parents are not a part of her life, even though they are both alive. I met my maternal grandmother twice: once when I was a baby and once when I was in college at a family reunion. She didn’t have anything to say to me when I last saw her, so there’s there. I’ve also met my maternal grandfather, but that didn’t work out either. It’s unfortunate, but that’s the way things are.

Growing up without grandparents was hard on me. I had people stare at me when they found out I didn’t have any grandparents, “You don’t have grandparents?! What kind of person doesn’t have grandparents?!” As if it was my fault my grandparents were either dead or out of the picture by choice.

When my mom met my step dad and they became serious and he merged into our family, my siblings and I finally knew what it was to have grandparents. C’s parents are so kind to us and have adopted us into their lives. They treat us like we are their grandchildren and they speak of us as if we are their grandchildren. You see, C’s parents didn’t have grandchildren until we arrived. We have all filled voids in each other’s lives

Before having Adele, I thought about how lucky our children will be to have so many grandparents and greatgrandparents. In fact, the Mr. and I were discussing that the other day. I’m just so happy Adele will have something so important that I never had.

And then I see her have moments like this one and my heart swells.

Adele with my Poppy.

Leave a Reply

