40 Weeks! (and a 40-week letter)

How far along? 40 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: 46 pounds — lost a pound since last week.
Maternity clothes? Not today. Most of my maternity shirts are no longer long enough. I’m wearing a lot of jersey skirts with Target’s long and lean tank tops.
Stretch marks? Unfortunately yes. They have also been taken over by PUPPS, which is absolutely awful.
Sleep: Terrible. I’m up all night long trying to not scratch my belly/stretch marks and putting lotion or cortizone cream on them to try to make them not itch so bad.
Best moment this week: The long weekend was wonderful! Also, I’m officially out of work until September 19!
Movement: Quite often. I can tell the babe is definitely losing space.
Food cravings: I don’t even care about food anymore.
Sex: Either a girl or a boy. ;) I think girl, the Mr. thinks boy. Not long until we find out who is right!
Labor Signs: No more progress, but I had lots of contractions last night that felt it a good idea to stop this morning. Stupid body. I really want this baby out!
Belly Button in or out? Out. I’m not really a fan of the outie.
What I miss: Not itching constantly all day long.
Weekly Wisdom: Patience is a virtue. I need to get me some.
Milestones: Today is my due date!

My appointment this morning went all right. Nothing too special, though I did lose a pound in the last week! My cervix is Fort Knox, so who knows when this baby will make an appearance naturally. They did test my bile lipids today to make sure they aren’t elevated. Apparently PUPPS can do that. Should they be elevated, then I will be induced sooner than later. She didn’t say exactly when, but did insinuate that it would be at the end of this week. We’ll see. If the baby doesn’t make an exit on his/her own, then I will be induced next week on the 14th. I’ll go in to the hospital at 7:00p and have cervadil inserted. The next morning they’ll start pitocin if I need it. Hopefully we won’t get to the induction, but we have no idea what my body will do between now and then. So, baby, you should come out soon!

My little munchkin,

I don’t think I will be able to call you little very much longer. You have been inside me for so long that I’m certain you’ll be a big baby! You are taking your sweet time, putting on lots of weight (which is a good thing). However, I want you to know that it is time to come out now. Mama doesn’t want to be induced, but I won’t have a choice come the middle of next week. It will be much easier on both of us if you could come out on your own in the next few days. Actually, if you’d come out today, I’d be one happy mama!

Despite the last few weeks (exhaustion and PUPPS, yuck), I have really loved being pregnant with you. It has really been an adventure that I’m glad we were able to embark on together. I am more than ready to meet you, though. I can’t wait to see your personality and see if you really do take after your daddy as much as I think you do. :)

We were talking the other day and he is so excited to finally get to hold you. I cannot wait to see you two together and watch you bond. I’m so very excited to share you with your daddy. Of course I tell him all about you all the time and he feels you moving around inside me all the time, but it will be different once you are here. It will be a wonderful new chapter in our lives.

So, we would really appreciate it if you would make your appearance soon!

Love you so much,
Mama

Leave a Reply

