Freezer meals

Freezing a few meals before the baby comes is a pretty popular thing to do. I think it’s a great idea; however, there’s not a lot that will be good during the summer. Most freezer meals are heavy casseroles. We don’t eat a lot of casseroles in the summer because it’s just too hot. That said, I do plan to make a few yummy dishes to put in the freezer for some even quicker meals after the baby arrives. Now, we have some cleaning out to do in our freezer (i.e., eat a bunch of food), but I plan to make these meals in the next few weeks so that it is all set for whenever this little one makes his or her appearance.

Here is what I’m thinking:

My favorite chicken and biscuit casserole. It will freeze well and I can just throw together some biscuits to put on top before baking and have bagged salad on hand to go with it. Not the healthiest thing I make, but seriously one of the yummiest!

Breakfast burritos. I’ve never made these before, but they look pretty yummy and filling. Also, a few people made comments on how they froze really well, so that’s a good thing. I’ll likely use wheat tortillas instead of white, though.

Pork barbecue with homemade sauce. We both love this and it’s super easy to make. It freezes great, too. :) Every time I make this for other people, they ask for the recipe, so I think that means it’s good!

Stuffed shells. These are always easy to reheat (and often taste much better the second day!). I figure pop these in the oven, make some toasted bread, and pull out another bagged salad. Easy peasy!

Vegetarian chili burritos. The Mr. absolutely loves these, and I have to admit that they are pretty good. I’ll make some homemade refried beans to freeze with them (and make myself some bean stuffed burritos for quick and easy lunches, too).

I’m going to need to make some more spaghetti sauce to keep in the freezer, too. We don’t eat spaghetti that often, but it’s a great quick meal. I’ll use up the rest of my freezer stash when I make the stuffed shells, so we will need more.

I’ll also make some pumpkin and banana muffins to throw in the freezer, too.

Hopefully I can find enough room in the freezer for all this food! It will easily last us a few months, especially since we will also eat grilled meats and veggies for most dinners (what we typically eat in the summer). So don’t think we are just going to eat burritos, chicken casserole, and pasta this summer! Sometimes it’s just nice to have something that is more put together and takes a longer time to make than grill food.

Leave a Reply

