34 Week Letter

My sweet Babe,

I can’t sleep tonight, so I thought I’d write you your weekly letter instead. Hopefully I don’t come off as a maniac in my insomniac state. Forgive me if I do.

Part of the reason I’m not sleeping tonight is that I cannot stop thinking about you. I think about who you’ll look most like. I want to know if you’ll have my curly hair or your daddy’s wavy/straight, your daddy’s brown eyes or my blue. I wonder what your personality will be like. I do know you are somewhat mellow right now. You may make your frustrations known, but you deal with them. For instance, your daddy had his arm over my stomach a few minutes ago and you didn’t like it much. Instead of kicking him hard to get off, you just nudged him a bit. He eventually moved because he didn’t want to bug you. Anyway, I’m very excited to learn these things about you.

I’m also up because I’m super uncomfortable tonight. I have experienced my first bout of swollen feet, and they are a bit sore. My allergies are in full gear (I hope you do not ever have to experience seasonal allergies). And I’m just sore all around — my belly gets heavy and I had a sneezing fit earlier tonight (seriously 30 sneezes or so in a row) that seems to have aggravated my round ligament pain. I’m getting to the point where I really want to meet you. It’s hard though because I know that it’s too early for you to come. Of course I want to put your needs before mine, so I want to keep you inside me for at the very least another 2.5 weeks (that puts us at 37 weeks). Your Mama can understand the feeling of those that want their babies to come out early. But you keep on growing, okay? Take all the time you need.

Another thing that’s keeping me up tonight is my friend’s baby. She might have some issues, and my friend has to go for another ultraound to figure out why her baby girl isn’t moving around or growing enough. I cannot imagine the terror she is feeling right now. I know she just wants her baby to be healthy, and it must be so difficult not knowing whether she is or not. I’m so glad that you are doing so well in there. You move around so much and are getting so strong. You are also growing perfectly. In fact, the doctor says you’ll be big since you are growing so much. I hope you are mostly long since your daddy and I are both tall. :) I’m just so thankful we aren’t having any issues. I love you so much already, and I couldn’t bear it if something were wrong with you. It would just break my heart knowing you were suffering in any way. I want to keep you safe always.

Your daddy and I are almost completely ready for your arrival. We have a few more small items to get you, but that’s about it. Your PopPop F (my dad) is buying you a swing next weekend, and that’s the last big thing I wanted to get you. Like I’ve said before, we have the most generous family ever. Very soon we will just be waiting for you to decide when your birthday will be, which is very exciting. The wait is sometimes long, but I know it is worth every second.

I just want you to always know that you are so, so loved by everyone that surrounds you. I, of course, am head over heels in love with you. We just have that special bond already that only a mother and baby can have. And your daddy? Holy moly. You already have him wrapped around your little finger. He is so excited to meet you. Every night he taps and rubs my belly to play with you. You seem to love it and almost always give him a show. The smile on his face and laughter on his lips is enough to make my heart melt a million times over. And the rest of our family can’t stop talking about you. They are all so excited to meet you and love on you. I know you’ll never want to love (or attention!) in this family, so get ready. :)

Keep safe and grow strong in there, my little one. I love you.

Your Mama

Leave a Reply

