The bird mobile is finished!

I am so glad that I’ve finally finished this project. It took me very long to do. I can see why Etsy sellers charge so much for their mobiles. It’s not perfect by any means, but I’m pleased with it. :)

Okay, here are the pictures and how I did it. I probably spent close to 10 hours on this thing between all the sewing, stuffing, wrapping, stringing, and gluing.

One of the stuffed birds. I made six birds with three different green fabrics.

The birds were very frustrating. If I ever make any again, I will likely use felt because that fabric would hold up much better. Otherwise I need to make them much bigger. I used this tutorial to make the birds and shrunk the pattern down to 65% to make the birds a good size for the mobile. The full size of the pattern does make a nice sized bird, which I used for practice.

The ring is wrapped with brown ribbon -- this went the quickest out of all the things I did for this project.

After I finished sewing and stuffing the birds, I went out and bought an embroidery circle clamp thingy (sorry the babe has sucked my vocabulary out of my brain and I can’t remember what they are really called). I think I bought a 10″ one. I took the inside portion of the clamp and wrapped it with brown ribbon. I used my hot glue gun to secure the ribbon. This part went pretty quickly as I mentioned in the picture and came out pretty well, if I do say so myself. :)

Showing some of my imperfections. :)

When I was thinking about how to put this together and make it look as good as possible (I’m truly not the craftiest person in the world), I had this great idea to use wooden beads to hide the ribbon knots. I tied the ribbon in place, lined them up, and put some glue on the knots and mushed the beads over them. I used a bit too much glue in a few places, but that’s okay. I think it looks fine unless you are super close up.

The top. :)

There’s really not much to say about this portion of putting the mobile together. It was frustrating to get everything lined up perfectly and level. I’m sure the ring isn’t completely level, but I don’t care. It’s pretty good.

Hanging in the nursery!

This is my favorite picture. Do you know why? It’s because I’m done with this projects!!! I got frustrated with it many times and had the Mr. help me out with much of it because I wanted to throw it across the room. I’m very glad to have it hanging up and it won’t be taken down again. Obviously this picture isn’t the best, but it shows where it’s hanging. I do like the tree decal in the back — I think it flows well together.

So, that is my bird mobile. I hope the babe bets some pleasure out of looking at it. Otherwise it was a waste of 10 hours for a silly decoration in the nursery. :)

Leave a Reply

