Easter 2011

We are hosting dinner this year. I’m so excited for it! I hope to have some good pictures of the day to share. :) I’ve only hosted one major holiday before: Thanksgiving 2009. It turned out quite well, if I do say so myself.

I think it will be just as much fun to host Easter and already have my menu planned out. I’m going to start cooking this weekend so that I don’t overwhelm myself next weekend. We’ll see how it goes!

So, here’s the menu.

Appetizers:
Deviled Eggs
Stuffed Jalapenos
Bruschetta

Dinner:
Turkey (my dad gave it to me and asked me to cook it — it’s not traditional, but oh well)
Ham (gotta have some traditional)
Green Beans
Carrots
Sour Cream and Chives Mashed Potatoes
Rolls
Honey Butter (for the rolls, of course)

Dessert:
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Mini Cheesecakes
Raspberry and Lemon Trifle (I plan to adapt this a lot — if it comes out well, I’ll share the recipe!)

I plan to make the dessert this weekend. I’ll make the pound cake for the trifle and the cheesecakes and them throw them in the freezer. Both will do quite well in there for a week. I’ll just take them out on Saturday and let them thaw out in the refrigerator.

I’ll cut up the carrots and green beans next Saturday to get them ready for Sunday, and everything else can be done early on Sunday. I plan to delegate a lot to family members because I’m sure I’ll need the help. I also plan to buy store-bought rolls because I won’t have time to make those from scratch. Mashed potatoes are easy enough to put together, and it’s super simple to make gravy. All I have to do is put the turkey and ham in the oven when they need it and we are good to go!

This menu is definitely a deviation from what we normally do for holiday meals, but I’m ready for something new. We always have the same big meal three times a year (Thanksgiving and Christmas is the exact same meal, and Easter just has ham instead of turkey), so it’s time for a change. Maybe some of the new things will be a hit and I can move them over into other holiday meals, too. We are hosting Christmas this year, too (I refuse to go anywhere on our baby’s first Christmas), so we’ll see if I can reuse anything that day. :)

Here’s to a successful Easter meal!

 

Leave a Reply

