Childbirth classes!!

When I registered for the two classes we are taking two months ago, I thought it would take forever until we came to the scheduled dates. However, we are there already! I can’t believe time flew by that quickly (I seem to say that a lot, huh?).

Tomorrow morning we drive to our hospital (eek!) to attend the all-day childbirth prep class. It’s a relatively small class, only 12 mamas and their partners, so I think we’ll be able to learn a lot. The class really is all day: 9:00a-4:30p. I’m pretty excited for it, though. I’m a little nervous, too. I’m sure it will be fine, though. :)

I’m most excited for the L&D tour, to be honest. I think seeing where we will have our little baby and spend our first moments as a family will really make it real for us. I’m also excited to learn a lot. I believe we both have a lot to learn about the process, dealing with pain, and getting through the toughest moments of our life thus far.

Wednesday is the start of the third trimester for me, and I can’t believe I’m already in the last third of my pregnancy. It’s really so amazing. In three months I will get to hold my baby. In three months, I’ll get to see the Mr. hold his baby for the first time and see who has been kicking his hands from inside my belly all this time. Of course I’m so excited to meet this little one, but I cannot wait to see the Mr. hold our baby for the first time. I think that’s the part I’m looking forward to the most. :)

Wednesday is also the day of our breastfeeding class. This one is only two hours long, but I’m sure it will be super informative, as well. Our hospital is one of the last in the entire area that has full-time lactation consultants. I’m so glad that we will have someone there to help us out after birth should we need it. Also, the hospital has an 85% rate of breastfeeding moms, which is awesome! From what I hear, the nurses are all very well trained and very helpful, so I’m excited for that.

All in all, this will be a busy and important week for us. So exciting!

Leave a Reply

