Week 16 Letter

My dearest little one,

I heard your heart beating today again. It was just as beautiful as the first time I heard it. I still can’t believe that you are in there and that you are mine. Well, mine and your daddy’s. I could listen to your heart beating all day if they’d let me. I can’t feel you (much) yet, and the reassurance of knowing that you are in there and you are growing is more than I could ever ask for.

We have our appointment set up so we can see how you are doing in there. It’s only four weeks away! It’s so crazy to think that the last time we saw you was November 23, and the next time we will see you is February 18. It seems like such a long time between ultrasounds, but time is really flying by. I love every moment I spend with you. I know the next four weeks will go by quickly, and then the next 20 weeks will likely go by just as fast. I can’t wait to meet you in person. I’m so excited to see all of your little organs and bones and fingers and toes up on that screen — I can’t even imagine what it will be like to hold you in my arms. I just know it will be beautiful.

I’ve never loved anything or anyone that I cannot see, but I can’t help but love you with all my being. They say there’s nothing like a mother’s love, and now I know that’s true. I’m certain the love I will feel for you when I first hold you will be immensely more than it is now, but I already feel it. I tear up just thinking about you. You are my little miracle. I’ve prayed for you for so long, and I can’t believe you are actually there. Some days I can’t believe I’m actually carrying you around inside me, holding you in the most secure way that you’ll ever be held. I’m so honored to be given this blessing, and I thank God every single day for giving you to me. I pray that you’ll be safe and sound in there, growing big and strong for the day you are born. I have so many hopes and dreams for you.

I’m just in complete awe of you.

So this is love,
Mama

Leave a Reply

