Dreams

Sex dreams are one of those awesome pregnancy symptoms that people tell you about. Well, I think they are a myth. I haven’t had a single sexy dream while pregnant; not a single one. And I was really looking forward to them!

What I have instead are the weirdest dreams you can imagine. These dreams top the cake of any weird dream I’ve ever had before. Honestly, I never really had strange dreams before — I mostly had scary dreams that felt so real I couldn’t decide whether it happened or not (I didn’t like those dreams and thank God I’m not having those now). But the strange dreams? Oh jeez.

I won’t share most of them here because they are just that strange; however, I will share last night’s dream. At least part of it — the dream took lots of turns that don’t quite make sense. But there was one general theme in the dream: Breastfeeding.

Now, I want to breastfeed my baby. There are many health benefits to it, it helps me bond with the baby more, and it even might help me lose weight quicker! I just think it is a great thing to do for your child. I have dreamed that I was breastfeeding my little baby girl (the only “sex”-related dream I’ve had, ha! I love a play on words). It was the sweetest most wonderful dream I’ve ever had (even counting the other baby dream I had two years ago before we were even trying to have a baby!). I can’t wait to experience that in real life (whether our baby is a boy or a girl).

But last night was a different kind of breastfeeding. You see, instead of breastfeeding my baby, I was practicing breastfeeding for when the baby comes. I was doing it alone, I was doing it with the Mr., I was doing it in public, I was doing it in private. Nothing strange about that (except it is strange to “practice” like I was) at all. The strange part of this dream is that I was breastfeeding my dog.

Yep, you heard me right: my dog. We were good at it, too! I seriously have no idea what this means. Am I carrying a puppy and not a baby? Are we going to be good at breastfeeding? Do I have some weird motherly feelings toward Cooper? I don’t know. All I know is that it is weird, so weird.

One thought on “Dreams

  1. Pingback: Dreams 2.0 « another life loved

Leave a Reply

