Carseats

Who knew it would be so difficult to pick one out?

There are two that I like: the Graco Snugride 35 and the Chicco KeyFit 30. The Mr. doesn’t really care what carseat we get as long as it fits in the car and is safe. The issue we are running into is with our cars.

We have a Honda Fit and a Dodge Neon. Our Honda will be with us for quite a long time, but the Dodge will likely be sold in the next year or so when we will buy an SUV. However, none of that matters right now because we need a carseat that will fit our cars. Let’s just say that the measurements the carseat’s descriptions give us and the measurements we take of the inside of our compact cars are not very compatible. I’m not sure what we are going to do.

I researched carseats for compact cars, and a carseat suggestion came up; however, that carseat got horrible reviews and I refuse to use it in my car for my child. The Mr. agrees. So we don’t know what to do. We ended up going to Babies R Us twice in the last week to look at carseats. Honestly? The infant carseats (which we plan to get at first) are just huge. I guess they all are, but they will definitely take up a bunch of room in our backseats. The Mr. said he now understands why it seems like everyone buys an SUV when they find out they are expecting.

We plan to go back to Babies R Us in a few weeks or so and take my car along since the babe will be in my car most of the time. Then we’ll take out every high-rated carseat they have there and try it out in the car. Once we find one that fits, that’s what we’ll register for.

What I don’t get is why don’t companies make high-rated carseats that will fit in compact cars? Most people that do not have SUVs drive a compact car. We still have babies, too! We don’t all want to buy a new car right away (or at all), either. We shouldn’t have to buy a new car to fit the carseats that are highly rated. Just because we have a compact car doesn’t mean we don’t want a safe place for our child.

Oh, and the icing on the cake? We are both tall. I’m 5’10” and he is 5’11”. We will likely have to pull our seats up all the way in order to fit any carseat in the back of our car, which will make for a fun driving experience for both of us. I’m hoping that we can find a great carseat that will fit in the back of my car without making it a terrible experience for us. I really hope I can fit either the Graco or the Chicco seat in there.

I guess we’ll see in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

