I think I’m addicted.

To cloth diapers that is.

I love the way they look and feel, and I can’t wait to put them on my babe’s bum.

I typically shop around once a month for a really good deal. If I don’t find a deal, then I don’t buy the diapers. I figured we have plenty of time until the babe comes to get good deals. I also plan to register for some BG4.0s from Target. If we happen to get some, great; if not, that’s fine.

Right now I’m trying to get lots of different types of diapers. So far I have mostly Fuzzibunz, but that is because they are  often on sale at one of the “steal” websites I have linked to the right. Today I just bought three one-size diapers for $50, including shipping, which is a great deal. Most CDs are about $20 each.

Yes, it seems as if they are more expensive upfront, which they are, but I won’t have to continue buying them every two weeks or so. Not only are they more environmentally friendly than disposable diapers, they are much friendlier on the pocket book, too. With this $50 spent, I’ve spent about $150 on diapers so far. I have bought 10 diapers (with three on the way). I don’t think that’s a bad start, at all. We’ll probably double the amount of diapers we have (maybe add a few more), and I hope to spend about the same amount for those 10-15. That will put us around $300-$400 for our diaper stash.

At this point, I probably won’t buy many more before the baby comes unless I find a really awesome deal. I have at least one of each type of diaper I want to try out, so I figured it would be good to see what works for us before spending another $150-$200 on diapers we may not like.

We plan to do a diaper service for the newborn stage since most one-size diapers don’t fit small newborns right away. That diaper service (which is really just a 3-month rental) is only $75, so that’s not bad at all. We’ll just need to buy a few covers and then we’ll be set for that.

Anyway, I’m still not 100% educated on cloth diapers and I still have many things I need to research and buy (such as detergent to wash them in, CD-safe rash creams, etc.), but that’s okay.

Anyway, here’s the fun stuff: my stash. :)

4 Fuzzibunz
1 BumGenius 4.0
2 EcoBumz
1 Happy Heiny’s (in the mail)
1 Rumparooz (in the mail)
1 Surprise Diaper! (in the mail)

Leave a Reply

