A new pregnancy craving?

I haven’t craved much during this pregnancy so far. More often than not, I experience food aversions. I pretty much hate garlic now (which I used to looooooove) and I don’t eat sweets anymore either (also something I used to love). I haven’t started eating anything weird yet, but that might happen. Who knows?

My first pregnancy craving was and egg salad sandwich. And let me tell you, that was the best egg salad sandwich I ever had. However, after a day of eating egg salad, I didn’t want it anymore. At all. Eggs are now my enemy. The smell is awful and makes me gag.

Today? I am craving again. There is this dip my mom makes at all her holiday parties (and we kind of make it at every party now because it’s so good). And I want it. So when the Mr. goes out to run an errand in a little while, I’m asking him to stop by the grocery store and pick me up the ingredients that I don’t have so I can eat it this afternoon/evening.

Here is the recipe:

Yummy Dip Stuff

1 container of sour cream
1 package of cream cheese
1 green bell pepper
1/4 lb dried beef (I usually add much more than that, to be honest)
1 small onion
a spritz of lemon juice if you have it

Soften the cream cheese and put it in an oven-safe dish (it doesn’t need to be large). Chop up your green pepper very finely. I use a food chopper to do this. Then you want to squeeze out the excess liquid from the pepper. You don’t want your dip to be green, do you?! Do the same with your onion and dried beef (though there isn’t excess liquid to squeeze off of those ingredients). Add your chopped ingredients to the cream cheese. Then add in the sour cream. I usually use a normal-sized container of the stuff. Mix everything together. Just eyeball the sour cream. If you want it really chunky and sort of dry, use less. I always use more.

Pop the dish in the oven at 375* for 30 minutes or so and serve hot with Butterfly Crackers. Seriously, this is the best dip ever. And I’m going to have some today!!!

One thought on “A new pregnancy craving?

  1. Pingback: I feel like I need to learn to cook differently. « another life loved

Leave a Reply

