Week 5 Letter

Dear Munchkin,

You are now five weeks old! This week your neural tube is developing (from which your baby’s brain, spinal cord, nerves, and backbone will sprout), as is your heart and circulatory system — toward the end of the week, your heart will start beating. That is a lot of work for one week! Your mama is starting to feel the exhaustion of pregnancy, but that’s okay. I know you need energy from me. Take as much as you need!

For the first time today, I’ve finally found something I really want to eat: egg salad! At this point, I think that egg salad might be my vice throughout this pregnancy, but we’ll see how it goes.

Now that I’ve had a week to think about the changes you’ll bring along with your birth, I have realized how excited I really am for everything. I cannot wait to see you on the ultrasound on Nov 23. I cannot wait to feel you move for the first time. I cannot wait to hold you in my arms for the first time. I cannot wait to teach you about God and all that is good in the world. I cannot wait to see you take your first steps, speak your first words, and explore the world for the first time.

Thank you for coming into our lives. Your daddy and I are so excited to meet you in nine months.

We love you!
Mama

Leave a Reply

