Bloat

Let’s talk about this, shall we?

Most every woman experiences some sort of bloat around the time she expects her period or when she’s on it. It’s just a fact of life. It sucks. It goes away in a few days. That’s it. Midol sometimes helps. Bloat is just one of those things women deal with.

Pregnancy bloat is a whole other issue. First of all, it’s not going to go away in a few days. Likely it will only get worse until it has become a bump (which every pregnant woman is waiting for!). It’s uncomfortable. And it is much, much worse than PMS bloat. I had no idea that the bloat could be so bad so quickly into pregnancy.

Some pregnant women show much earlier than others, and this is sometimes because they’ve had children before. I think it’s pretty normal for those women to be pretty bloated right away. I, on the other hand, have never had children, nor have I ever been pregnant before.

And this bloat I’m sporting? Well, it’s ridiculous. Toward the end of the day yesterday I had to use the “rubberband trick” to keep my stomach comfortable in my pants. (This “trick” is where you take a hair tie of some sort, loop it through the button hole on the pants, and then tuck it around the button. It works quite well.)

I’m a bit embarrassed that at 4w5d I’m already having to supplement my clothing. I swear they weren’t that tight before I got pregnant! It’s just when I eat, my belly gets bigger, and after I’ve eaten a few times, my belly is too big for my pants. Ugh. I’m holding so much water it’s ridiculous.

I might have to take a picture for you to show the difference between my AM stomach and my PM stomach. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

