Not about babies, but sort of.

I mentioned this in passing, but I have a heart “condition.” Basically my heart beat is abnormal and I experience palpitations from it. The official name is premature ventricular contractions (PVCs). Thankfully my PVCs are not dangerous (I’ve had a lot of tests to prove this), but it is rather rare for me to experience these while so young (only 25) and healthy.

I now take a beta blocker for the “episodes” I have. When I have what I call an episode, I feel my heart beating (and “skipping” beats — what PVCs feel like) constantly for days and even weeks on end. It’s quite terrible. It is very difficult to constantly feel my heart beating, especially since I feel the PVCs. Eventually the tension gets to be too much, and my back starts hurting, which then causes my chest to hurt (I also have mild scoliosis, which is likely causing the back and chest pain, combined with the tension).

The meds help me out greatly, and I’m very appreciative of them. They make the palpitations disappear, keep my heart rate down (because my heart rate also shoots up for no reason at all), and even makes the PVCs go away. I only take them when absolutely necessary, though, because I think I could very easily get addicted to taking them. Not because the beta blocker is an addictive medicine, but because it makes me feel so much better. However, there are days that I really do not need the meds, so I do not want to get used to taking them all the time.

I especially do not want to rely on the meds too much because it is a Class C drug. When I get pregnant, I cannot take this medication unless my doctors deem it more beneficial to take it than it is dangerous. At this point, I don’t think the doctors will really decide that it is so beneficial that I should take it even if it might cause fetal issues. I talked to my PCP about this a little bit at my last appointment, and we basically just said that we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. In my mind, however, I know I will not take this med while pregnant unless my and the baby’s health is suffering from tension/pain/palpitations.

The whole point of this post is that I’m having a bad day today. I’m feeling my heart a bit more than I like, and I’m having chest discomfort. Thankfully I know the chest discomfort is due to the bra I was wearing this morning and my back issues (I’m going to make an appointment with a chiropractor, per my cardiologists suggestion). I am in very good heart shape, so we don’t need to worry about dangerous heart-related issues (unless I have a complete change of symptoms, of course, but my cardiologist doesn’t think this will happen).

I just wish I felt normal again. I hate that I have this to deal with, and I hate that it impacts my life. But deal with it I must. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I’m very glad that this is not a dangerous condition for me, but that doesn’t make it any easier to deal with. I think I have an unusually strong reaction to the PVCs/palpitations, which is what makes it that much more difficult for me.

Leave a Reply

